Our election hopefuls battle political stranglehold

Picture: Robbie Macdonald


Stewart Arnold heralded the Yorkshire Party’s increasing importance in taking on the political establishment’s ‘stranglehold’, as the Party published its list of candidates for the local elections in May

The Party leader said: “I’m thrilled that, in 2018, the Yorkshire Party has stood more candidates than ever before. From Hull to Harrogate, Sheffield to Leeds, our party is increasingly becoming the real opposition to the Labour-Conservative duopoly with its stranglehold on Yorkshire’s politics.
“I look forward to campaigning with many of our excellent candidates in the coming weeks, and to celebrating excellent election results on May 4th.”

While much of the political impetus so far has focused on Mick Bower’s stirring campaign to win the Sheffield City Region’s mayoral ballot, the Party will be putting up 24 others candidates determined to improve their wards; a record for local elections.

The Party goes into the local elections buoyed by the the decision of Councillor Claire Palmer, opposition leader on Hambleton District Council, North Yorkshire, to join the Yorkshire Party and so become our first district councillor. As the only non-Conservative councillor on the Council, Cllr Palmer,  and the Yorkshire Party, function as the only oppositionl.

Our May candidates include Chair Lucy Brown, and Executive Committee members Jack Carrington, Arnie Craven, John Hall, and Martin Roberts,


This is the full list of Yorkshire Party candidates for local elections on May 3, 2018:


Wakefield 6

North – Lucy Brown

South – Dan Cochrane


Ackworth – Martin Roberts

Altofts & Whitwood – Steven Crookes


Pontefract North – Arnie Craven


Castleford Central & Glasshoughton – Paul Phelps



Harrogate 4

Starbeck – John Hall

Spofforth – Alex Hall

Stray – Alex Howell

Ripon Ure Bank – Jack Render



Bradford 3

Idle & Thackley – Jonathan Barras

Eccleshill – Lara Barras

Bingley – Mark Barton



Sheffield 3

Manor Castle – Jack Carrington

Stocksbridge & Upper Don – William Pitt

Walkley – Jack Bannan



Leeds 3

Pudsey – Conor O’Neill


Guiseley & Rawdon  – Bob Buxton

Killingbeck & Seacroft – John Otley



Calderdale 1

Northowram & Shelf – Danny Manning



Barnsley 2

North East – Chris Burrows

Cudworth – Tony Devoy



Hull 1

Bricknell – Alexis Blakeston



Kirklees 1

Newsome – Bikatshi Katenga




Mayoral election

Mick Bower

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.